My Humble Introduction

Hello all,

I’ve decided to start a blog before I head off to Costa Rica for three weeks. As I enter this new chapter of my life, I thought documenting new changes in a blog format would be easiest for me to update all my friends and family. Normally I’m not one to share personal details of my life. However, doing things that scare you can bring immense amounts of growth and wellbeing.

So I will begin by stating why I’m choosing to attend a Yoga Teacher Training course in Costa Rica. I’ve gotten mixed reviews on the subject by family and friends but I haven’t yet truthfully addressed the topic. Here it is: I have never done anything by myself. I have never travelled to another country alone, I’ve never been to an overnight camp, I’ve never had to find out who I am in dire situations. My whole life I’ve had my family and friends with me physically and mentally. While I’m extremely grateful for them and all their constant support, I realized that I need to explore a place I’ve never been, alone, to understand who I really am. I will have very limited service while I’m there, as well as very little time to talk to people back home. I’m nervous, anxious, stressed and worried but I’m also incredibly excited and ready to experience this new period in my life. Yes, I could have found a program close to home, but ideally, that’s not what my heart was telling me to do.

During my very first yoga class, taught by a friend at Jacksonville University, I realized that yoga is what I wanted to do with my life. I want to do yoga, to help others, to feel connected to the earth and my body and mind. It may sound abstract to someone who has never tried yoga, but trust me when I say that it is not all mumbo jumbo. The practice is real and personal and rewarding. I hope that in time I will become a great yoga teacher to others who struggle with things such as physical pain or mental health issues, as well as to people who begin yoga just to become fit. If I can inspire people to start yoga and come to love it, then I will feel that I have fulfilled my calling.

So there you have it: I am ready to go to Costa Rica for three weeks to become a certified Yoga Instructor. Some may think I’m crazy, others may think it’s awesome, but no matter what people will say, I am determined to follow my dreams.

Thanks for beginning this journey with me. I hope you continue to check in because I have decided to post not only personal things on this blog but also tips and lessons for people who are interested in starting yoga. It is a rewarding practice and one that will benefit every aspect of your life.

Love to all, Mary Lois

2 thoughts on “My Humble Introduction

  1. Best of luck on your trip and journey! Yoga has definitely helped me with my anxiety and stress and I’m hoping it’ll help me become more mindful – great teachers definitely help! I’ll be keeping tuned for your updates 😊

    Like

Leave a comment